Miss Farah

My Online Interview

Posted on: September 27, 2009


 

 

FEATURED TEACHER: FARAHG

September 24th, 2009

 

MY ONLINE INTERVIEW ON TEACHERLINX.COM

 

Can you tell us a bit about your history as an educator?

– I first started teaching when I was at University. I taught preschoolers in the morning for 3 years and then in the afternoon I would go to University. I just wanted a job to fill my time but then I realized this is what i really want to do. My major wasn’t even education it was business. I changed my major to English Language then I studied one more year after i graduated for my teaching diploma in Elementary. After I graduated, i had enough experience to start teaching at a school. I was chosen to teach first grade and as a homeroom teacher. I taught at Beirut Baptist School in Lebanon for 3 years. Then I felt I needed something new. I wanted to teach abroad. I wanted a new experience and seek different cultures. So i applied to the Gulf region specifically in Kuwait. I got accepted and this is my second year teaching at the American Creativity Academy as a first grade homeroom teacher and I love it.

Public or Private school? Why?

– In many areas of the country, there’s a lot of middle-class anxiety and guilt these days about sending children to public schools. Private schools cost money. Private schools do not receive tax revenues, but instead are funded through tuition, fundraising, donations and private grants. However, most of us prefer private schools because they have the flexibility to create a specialized program for students. For example, private schools may use art or science in all classes, or take children on extended outdoor trips that blend lessons across the curriculum. Private schools can create their own curriculum and assessment systems.

A common notion that society has on teachers is that they have a lot of vacation time. How do you spend your vacation time and is all the time off as good as people portray it to be?

– Teachers do have a lot of vacation time and most of my friends envy me on that issue. However, we deserve to have that amount of vacation because people in other fields don’t understand the pressure and the responsibilities we go through. We don’t sit behind the desk all day we are always mentally and physically tired. We have to be creative and come up with new things all the time. We have to deal with parents and students concerns on a daily basis. Since I am in Kuwait at the moment during summer time i go back to Lebanon and spend it with my family and friends. However when i was in Lebanon I used to find something else to do, like giving private lessons for a month and I travel the month after. I believe we deserve it 🙂

How do you feel technology has impacted education today?

– Technology in education is very important nowadays. Preschoolers have started using computers as well. All our work includes technology like using the overhead projector, playing math games on the computer, reading online stories etc… Some schools have even provided parents to viewing their student’s gradebook from the internet and Live webcams for parents to see their child performing at the nursery.

What are your main interests in the field of education? What educational topics do you focus on?

– My main interest in the field of education is the method of teaching. Education should be fun. The topics that i teach are English, Math, Science, and social studie

What influenced you to want to become a teacher?

– I was influenced by my advisor at the university. She was the one who saw that potential me and encouraged me.

Teaching is… 
listening, questioning, being responsive, and remembering that each student and class is different.It is also about style. Good teaching should be entertaining. It is caring, nurturing, and developing minds and talents. At the end of the day, teaching is about having fun, experiencing pleasure and intrinsic rewards.

Interested in learning about Miss Farah’s classroom? Feel free to visit Miss Farah’s Classroom Blog at missfarahsclass.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

