Miss Farah

How can Parents help their kids be successful at school

Posted on: October 4, 2009


Research suggests that children whose parents get actively involved in their education get better grades and test scores, graduate from high school at higher rates, are more likely to go on to higher education and are better behaved with more positive attitudes. There is also evidence to suggest that children whose parents read to them in the early years thrive better at school.

1. GET A PLAN AND STICK TO IT.
Set a specific “quiet time” every day for homework or general reading. Involve your child in setting the rules for this. Ask your child to come up with 3 rules — for example:

  • Collect all needed materials before starting.
  • No talking or fooling around during this time.
  • Complete all work before stopping

Elementary school students should have 20-30 minutes a day set aside for this purpose. Junior and senior high school students need at least 30-45 minutes for daily study time. Some schools expect students to spend at least 15 minutes per subject each day on homework. Check with the teachers to see how much homework to expect for your child.
Homework, even if routine, should not be viewed as optional, any more than is an assignment or project at your place of work.

Use the school 
Get to know your child’s teachers and what they expect. Compare your goals for your child to those of the teachers. Make sure that your child knows of your interest in his school. This will send the message that what he is doing is important.

ENCOURAGE INDEPENDENT GROWTH.
Eventually a child must take charge of her own learning. This means that it is important for you to “let go” when your child pursues hobbies and starts reading for her own enjoyment

YOUR CHILD’S LEARNING; A DAILY CHECKLIST

Clip this handy list and place it on your refrigerator or another spot where you will be sure to see it every day.

1. Is a learning “quiet time” scheduled for my child today?

2. How can I praise the initiative or thinking of my child today?

3. Have I clearly talked about what I expect? Have I avoided making excuses for low effort by my child?

4. Can I praise a good effort?

5. What will I read or write today to set a good example?

6. How will I get relaxed before working on homework with my child so that I do not become impatient?

7. Have I made it clear that my child (not me) is responsible for homework?

8. Can 1 involve my child in a household activity today that will show the practical importance of learning?

9. Have I encouraged my child to pursue a hobby, reading the newspaper or another independent activity?

10. Did I remember to “sign off’ on homework and attach a note if there is a problem?

3 Responses to "How can Parents help their kids be successful at school"

I printed that!!!

Awesome blog!

I thought about starting my own blog too but I’m just too lazy so, I guess Ill just have to keep checking yours out.
LOL,

Hehe well ya starting a blog takes a lot of your time but when you do have time you should start one it’s wonderful to share your information to everyone in the world. 🙂

Leave a Reply

