Miss Farah

What Happened to the Shark at the Aquarium??

Posted on: May 9, 2010


Today we had a fieldtrip to the Kuwait aquarium at the scientific center. We were all so excited to go although i know that my students have visited the aquarium like 10,000 times the same goes for me as well. But I love looking at fish, they are so peaceful and beautiful.

On our way inside we stopped by the aquarium where there were sharks and we found one at the bottom lying on its back, barely moving.

“Look Miss Farah, the shark is dead!!!!!!”

I had no idea if it was dying or not…and didn’t know what to tell my kids,,,I just told them the shark is sick…

On my way to school I browsed the internet and googled this particular shark!

There is nothing wrong with it! They are called Port Jackson Sharks! Many of the sharks that practice this method are dorsoventrally flattened (or squashed along the length of its back), like the angel shark. They have stronger muscles in the face. This method is called buccal breathing.

So don’t worry kids! This shark is alive and kickin’ 🙂

2 Responses to "What Happened to the Shark at the Aquarium??"

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Farah Ghazale. Farah Ghazale said: What Happened to the Shark at the Aquarium??: http://wp.me/pDc1k-sO […]

Great points! I will be checking back here often!

Leave a Reply

